in conjunction with

INET 2002
The Internet Society's 12th Annual INET Conference:
"Internet Crossroads: Where Technology and Policy Intersect"

June 22, 2002
Crystal Gateway Marriott
Arlington, VA 22202

About | Location | Program | Resources | Contact

Draft Schedule

09.30h Registration and Coffee

10.00h Welcome

Marc Rotenberg, Executive Director, Electronic Privacy Information Center (United States)

10.10h Keynote Speeches

"The Public Interest in Regulating Communications Technologies"

Paul Margie, Spectrum and International Legal Advisor to Commissioner Michael Copps, Federal Communications Commission (United States)

"Privacy Challenges for Internet Users in Europe"

Erika Mann, Member of the European Parliament (Germany)

10.45h ICANN and Internet Governance

Chair: Sarah Andrews, Research Director, Electronic Privacy Information Center (United States)

Hans Klein, Assistant Professor, School of Public Policy, Georgia Institute of Technology (United States)

James Love, Director, Consumer Project on Technology (United States)

Michael Froomkin, Professor of Law, University of Miami School of Law (United States)

Karl Auerbach, ICANN "At-Large" Board Member (invited)

12.15h Lunch and Short Presentation

Civil Society Participation in the World Summit on the Information Society,
Sean O Siouchru, Nexus Research (Ireland)

13.30h Surveillance and Censorship: Civil Liberties Implications of New Laws on Cyber-Crime and Terrorism

Chair: David Banisar, Deputy Director, Privacy International (United Kingdom)

Cedric Laurant, Electronic Privacy Information Center (Belgium)

Meryem Marzouki, Imaginons un Reseau Internet Solidaire, Centre National de La Recherche Scientifique, & Le Laboratoire d'Informatique de Paris 6 (France)

Tracy Cohen, the LINK Centre, Wits University (South Africa)

Alberto Escudero-Pascual, PhD Candidate, Royal Institute of Technology (Sweden)

15.00h Coffee Break

15.15h The Future of the Public Domain: Intellectual Property Protections and Other Restrictions on Access to Information

Chair: Prof. Julie Cohen, Georgetown University Law Center (United States)

João Miguel Neves, Free Software Foundation Europe (Portugal)

Abraham Drassinower, Assistant Professor, University of Toronto Law School (Canada)

Cindy Cohn , Legal Director, Electronic Frontier Foundation (United States)

Stuart Hamilton, International Library Association (Denmark)

16.45h Closing

 << back